African Union Headquarters†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Bujumbura, Burundi

Nation States Africa

Security Council Chamber, Bujumbura, Burundi

African Union Security Council

The African Unionís Security Council (AUSC) represents the judicial power of the organizationís three-body system.† It is charged with maintaining peace and security between nations.† The AUSC acts in specific situations to make decisions which member governments much carry out under the African Union Charter.† The decisions are known as AU Security Council Resolutions.

The Security Council is composed of two states from each sub-region which are elected through sub-regional elections† for a period of three months.† The AU Secretary General heads the AUSC and casts its tie-breaking vote when necessary, bringing the total number of AUSC members to nine.